Autistic Adults have Meltdown

”Sensory overload doesn’t lead to meltdowns for me. It’s usually caused by anxiety and mental distress, but I found that when my sugar levels drop because I haven’t had protein in a while, that is a major contributor to my agitation and potential meltdowns. Either way, when my childhood traumas come up, I can lose control over my emotions”
Embrace ASD, Neuroclastic

An autistic meltdown is a neurological event where the individual has very little control over their emotions or behavior. It occurs when the brain is overwhelmed with a build-up of stimulation including pain, physiological, sensory, and emotion. Symptoms include yelling, crying, self-harm, harm to others, & harm to objects. Until stimulation is reduced or negated it is difficult to regain control.

The best way to deal with meltdowns is observation & prevention. I have tried to gage the causes both immediate & longterm in my meltdowns but it is still difficult. Most of the information is how to parent someone who is autistic. There is very little information for autistic adults to help themselves.

As an adult during a meltdown, I am able to keep myself from hurting others by biting myself. During a meltdown, I struggle to move especially if I feel threatened. I am so overwhelmed by a buildup of stimuli & current stimuli that I can’t think & I tend to disassociate.

The last meltdown I had was bad. I hurt my mom’s feelings, my throat from screaming, and my hand from biting. Until she left I was slowly able to regain composure. The quiet finally helped a bit. I was still in pain, overwhelmed by my emotions & emotions of past events. Something else nagged at me, and anxiety of an unknown origin; it is most likely due to a medication.

I later googled Adult Autistic Meltdowns. I was disappointed by the results filled with managing children & the occasional abusive autistic men mantra. There was nothing to help Autistic adults manage or prevent meltdowns

4 thoughts on “Autistic Adults have Meltdown

Leave a comment